Organisations involve employees in decision making process of their products and services. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both.

It is undebatable to say that many organisations in 21st century are involving employees in the decision-making process there by keeping all level of employees engaged in core activities. However, this way of approach has its own set of benefits and pitfalls. This coming two paragraphs will discuss the same with supporting details.

Greater employee commitment is one of the key advantages of involving employees in decision-making process. It makes each and every employee feel more committed and part of organisation. Other prominent advantage by involving employees is you get more and more better ideas from larger group of people and this will very helpful in implementing any larger scale new policy in the company. Employees also feel more positive about the company and importance they get and thereby increasing overall productivity of employees.

Every coin has two sides, employee involvement in decision-making process also comes with some negative effects and the main one among them is that the distinction between the management level and employee level becomes blurred. Apart from this, the involvement of too many people might create a confusion, particularly with large organisations which consists of thousands of employees with too many inputs, feedback and suggestions.

Involving employees in decision-making process is a two edged sword. It has its own pros and cons and has to be handled or dealt with caution.