People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

Nowadays, university admission has been one of the most significant parts of students' life in order to acquire knowledge or better job opportunities. It is clear that there would be much more reasons that conduct students for further education which we will discuss throughout this essay.

First of all, one of the most important reasons for attending university might be the essence of having certificates for jobs. It means, better job prospects and higher incomes require higher education as well as proof for that in the current employment system. According to my personal experience, when I was a university student, I could not be employed in prestigious companies due to the fact that I did not finish my education and the company needs a certificate for recruitment. Thus, the proof of people's qualification might force them into attending universities or colleges.

Secondly, there is some other reason such as parent's obligation that leads students to further education and university enrollments. In many cultures high educational level of youngsters is extremely important for families which mean parents provide any necessity for their children's education that makes avoiding further education become less acceptable to them. For instance, a scientific research has asserted that children in developing countries face a lot of pressure related to their educational issues because of their parents' expectations. Hence, it is correct to presume that in some cultures and societies there are some irrational reasons for higher education.

To conclude, although there are several reasons for attending colleges and universities such as improving knowledge or better job prospects, continuing education has some other less popular reasons. Therefore, it might be because of a piece of paper like certificate or parent's pressure for further education.