Put the examination at the end of the semester or separated small tests throughout the entire semester, which one do you agree?

Conducting examination at the end of the semester or separated small tests throughout the course has always been a debatable topic. Many people believe that putting the exams at the end of the year will be beneficial to both students and schools. Others reject this notion and argue that separate exams should be conducted throughout the semester. In my opinion, I completely agree that with separate small tests should be brought in place of semester exams. This essay would further elaborate both sides of the examination with justifying reasons and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To start with, examinations are conducted in schools or colleges is to know how much knowledge student gained throughout the year in academics. Semesters which are conducted yearly once will provide an opportunity to students for continuous learning, feedback and a better-paced understanding of the content. There will be more focused class interaction because of the continuous engagement between students and teachers. The main advantage of semester exams is that the performance would not be judged at the end of one year rather conducting examinations twice a year will help in regularly evaluating the students progress. For example, a semester system allows greater freedom, a scope for designing and delivering a variety of courses that the students can pick flexibility to enhance the quality of their learning.

On the other hand, people who oppose semester system and demand for short time exams. Small tests are beneficial to students as they will come to know where they stand and they can try to improve those weak areas in the next exam. Some students feel stress and will go to depression when they are going to attend semester exams that are conducted for every six months. For example, small tests will help students to divide the topics and content into small chunks and prepare for a particular topic. In a recent survey conducted by the University of California, showed that out of 100 students participated 85 students opted for short-term exams. This survey clearly shows us the advantage of short time exams and further, the schools and governments have to work accordingly to change examinations from semester to short term.

According to the arguments aforementioned, one can reach out to point that conducting short-term exams have good benefits to students both in terms of education and health. In a nutshell, it can be concluded that students will learn more when participated in short time exams.