A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones,

tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected

to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

Since the beginning of the 21st century, large number of schools have adopted teaching typing skills rather than writing skills, they think that people in future will only use technological devices which require only typing skills. Some people believe that handwriting learning should be stopped at schools and it should be replaced by typing skills learning. This essay will discuss the reasons why schools should teach children only typing skills and stop teaching them the handwriting. Also, this essay will illustrate that handwriting is no longer relevant.

Schools have to adopt the system of learning which focuses on the learning of typing skills. After 20 years, It is expected that all careers will become computerized, and the typing skills is the only skills which are requested. Recent research, which was conducted in the University of Science and Technology, has shown that 95% of jobs will be done using computers and smartphones in the next decade. Therefore, it seems clear that teaching typing skills is necessary and schools should stop learning the traditional hand writing.

Nowadays, most news, books, and journal are published on the internet. People have stopped using the traditional way of reading books because it takes a lot of time and efforts, in addition, using the internet enables people to acquire any type of information just only in few second. For example, in the past, people were facing a problem of finding the books they need because limited number of handwriting copies, but now, the internet enables people to find any article or book just by typing its name. Thus, handwriting will disappear in the near future and it will replaced by e-books.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why the schools should establish a new system of learning which depends on the typing skills, and the handwriting will not be available in the next few decades. In my opinion, I believe that using computers and smartphones will absolutely replace the traditional written books in the near future.