In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting? If voting is compulsory in a democratic society, what are some conclusions we can draw about the nature of democracy ?

The importance of voting as a compulsory issue, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. This essay will elaborate both the advantages and the disadvantages of voting as a compulsory issue and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why voting as a compulsory issue has proved to be beneficial for society, but the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that voting is a civic responsibility in which people who participate in elections are more concern about the candidates. For instance, in Australia voting is compulsory and this has created a 90% of participation during the last prime minister elections. Therefore, mandatory voting can play a vital role to educate people in politics.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of voting as a compulsory issue, but the most alarming one is rooted from the fact that people can vote in a meaningless way, no reflecting the true voice of the majority. For example, usually people under this system vote without having any knowledge of the candidates, they do it because is an obligation and to avoid penalties. Thus, meaningless voting can play a vital role to avoid fines.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of voting as a compulsory issue, is prominent, although it has a number of drawbacks that should be well handled.