Some people believe that the sole aim of higher education is to make people ready for employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss.

Few individuals are of the view that the primary goal of tertiary education is to prepare people for work. To a large extent, I agree with this statement because if the youth of the country will be educated, only then they will be able to get better jobs. This essay will discuss points to support my opinion.

On the one hand, many people believe that university studies give more extensive benefits to their students besides the career purpose. Firstly education is required for character development. Even if the person has a degree, it will not ensure him or her safe profession unless he or she has developed their character. If a person is adequately groomed, only then they will be able to place themselves in a professional setting. For instance, if a candidate appears in an interview, the interviewees not only check their academic qualification but also check if the person is capable enough to adapt himself to a new setting.

On the other hand, there are numerous reasons which support the ideology that university education is only aimed at making graduates ready for jobs. Firstly, if the university students will be well-qualified, they will get much better jobs in Multinational Companies – entrance to which is tough. Secondly, having a degree does not guarantee a job, but one of the prerequisites that are essential to apply for a job is having some or the other kind of professional degree.

Furthermore, attaining university education provides a broad spectrum of selection for the students. If they have only school qualification, they have fewer job opportunities. Whereas, if they have a tertiary education, the possibilities for various professions open up and they can choose the field in which they want to pursue their career.

In conclusion, although higher education provides added benefits to the graduates, its major purpose is to make the youth ready for attaining job occupations. Students should acquire education so that they can have an independent and well-settled life in their future.