“Students should be required to stay in school until the age of eighteen.”

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Support your

point of view with reasons and /or examples from your own experience.

The school leaving age should be raised to 18 as it would mean that high school graduates are equipped with knowledge and skills to enter the workplace. Even though some are successful when they

drop out at a young age, I do agree that it is in their best interest to stay in school until the age of 18.

Students should stay in school as, education provides them with the necessary skills and tools needed to be successful in life. These tools will shape and help them to secure employment and become positive members of society. By having a qualification behind your name it makes it much easier to become employable. Thus staying in school is beneficial.

Dropping out of school at a young age could have a severe impact on a young person.

Opportunities might be harder to obtain as the work force becomes more competitive. It will become harder for them to obtain skilled work as they have no competitive advantage. As a lot of unskilled work can be done by machines, it is not easy for young, unqualified people to gain employment.

In this essay I have discussed how vital it is for students to stay in school up until they have graduated. It is beneficial, because it helps you become employable and also gives you a competitive advantage to others that are unskilled. In my opinion, society as a whole would benefit from more students staying in schools.