Is studying films at school as important as studying literature?

It is an undeniable fact that watching films have become a virtually inevitable part of modern life since the movie was invented. Some people argue that films should be embedded in the curriculum as they are as vital as studying literature; opponents claim the opposite notion. I am profoundly inclined to believe that film is as prominent as literature; thus, it can be utilised as a powerful education tool. The following paragraphs will further elaborate on the undeniable importance of films for students and will lead to a plausible conclusion.

First of all, films provide not only children but also adults with a myriad of benefits, and the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that people can build stronger emotional connections with what they watch than what they read as they use two senses at the same time, seeing and hearing. As a result, they can relate to themselves better which stimulates student learning without boredom.

For instance, the data yielded by a reputable high school in the UK in 2017 proves that students obtained higher exam grades when they learned literature syllabus through dramas than when they learned through conventional means. Second of all, another key value of film in education is that it is a leveler and it has a universal language. For example, students can discuss their opinions about a drama no matter what social class or background they are from, which will ultimately promote the development of their social skills. Furthermore, they are a gateway to exploring unknown worlds of other people and complex ideas.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that films are as much prominent as literature in a school curriculum. It is expected that executive head teachers will take cognizance of this fact and include studying films at school as an option for pupils.