cashless society.

Credit cards have become a virtually inevitable item in almost every wallet in this century since it came to life. Some people are already so much used to of a cash-free life; others are taking advantages of credits that a credit card provides to them without worrying about the debt they will have to pay later. I am inclined to believe that a society entirely reliant on electronic transactions is not realistic and the following paragraphs will further elaborate on both pros and cons of a cashless society in detail and discuss whether it can be realised.

On one hand, credit cards provide a myriad of benefits. Undoubtedly, the most conspicuous one is that the convenience of credit cards in many aspects. For example, the data yielded by the University of Oxford proves that electronic transactions significantly reduce the time spent on shopping through online shopping or online bill payment, be it water or electricity. Additionally, people have to carry neither a bunch of coins in their pockets nor bulky wallets.

On the other hand, despite being very convenient the credit card comes with a cost. As people cannot feel and see the actual money is spent when they purchase something with their credit or debit cards, it is harder to manage the money; consequently, people spend money unconsciously, particularly those who do not have much. For instance, a study conducted by the University of Texas in 2016 found that 1% of the suicide incidents were because of credit card debts.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that the merits associated with cashless payments outweigh its downsides. However, an entirely cash-free society is absolutely impossible considering those who are under the poverty line as well as unbanked, which will be the same in the foreseeable future as well.