Is television primarily a form of entertainment or information

Television was one of the most important inventions of 20th century. Some people say that this is an entertainment source only, while others argue that it is also an information source and contribute a lot to educate people about different cultures, locations and national and international events. In my opinion, I believe that television not only provides people with entertainment but also acts as source of information.

To begin with, proponents of TV as an educational source put forward many evidences to support their venture point. First and foremost, there are many channels which help people to acquaint themselves with wild life, different culture and locations. For instance, Discovery channel telecast various programs and documentaries making people aware of culture of different countries, diversity of wild life and local cuisines of different locations. Furthermore, many foreign channels such as BBC give people chance to improve their English speaking skills which is considered as a global language. Besides this, news channels serve the purpose of news provider and make people aware of domestic and international happenings.

In spite of above mentioned evidences, many people still consider TV as a source of entertainment only. These people argue that majority of viewers spent hours of their daily routine sitting in front of TV watching TV serials, movies, music videos and other entertainment programs and hardly interested to switch informational channels. To exemplify, children do not prefer to watch news and stick to television to watch cartoons and movies. Moreover, most of the people watch television programs for the sake of entertainment and to get relaxed and this is the another argument placed by this category of groups.

To conclude, it is clear that while TV is a main source of entertainment, it does not mean that it does not bring information for its viewers. Television acts as an educational source in terms of teaching people about different customs and traditions, foreign languages and national and international news around the world.