There are more and more situations using credit cards instead of cash. It seems that cashless society is becoming a reality. How realistic do you think it is? And do you think it brings benefits or problems?

The importance of using credit cards, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substance influence of using credit cards instead of cash has sparked controversy over the potential impact of this trend on the whole society. It can be agreed that using credit cards play a vital role, though it has drawbacks. This essay will elaborate on how credit cards can increase the purchasing process efficiency and how credit cards encourage cybercrime, and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why governments should use credit cards rather than cash, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that credit cards can increase the purchasing process efficiency. As an illustration, research has invariably revealed that customers’ shopping waiting period in Japan have dramatically increased four times compared with use cash after credit cards payment has been introduced to 98 big shopping center in Tokyo. Therefore, governments should use credit cards more frequently rather than cash.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view to believe that credit cards also have some disadvantages as there are innumerable reasons for that but the most salient one is that credit cards encourage cybercrime for the whole society. For instance, the Hong Kong police claim that cybercrime rates in 2018 have dramatically increased by 37% and credit card fraud takes 29% of it. Thus, frequently using credit cards will increase the cybercrime rate for society.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of credit cards in society is prominent, although the cybercrime rate of credit cards should be well handled.