The university will deduct the student’s score for late assignments, opinions and solutions.OrShould University penalize students for late submission of their work?

In general, most of the universities are strict when it comes to deadlines and deduct scores if student assignments are not submitted on time. This essay examines various opinions on the subject and also comes up with a personal opinion on the matter.

Universities have their curriculum planned against specific timelines and it is often tacitly laid down in their culture that students stick to the deadlines for their assignments. It might also be a written rule of book that the work needs to be submitted on time. The professors and other teaching staff need to make lesson plans and work on their schedule based on the timelines. Delayed submission of work by students only results in stress for the teaching staff and they might not be able to provide timely and quality feedback to the students.

Next comes the fact that the students need to go about their study in a disciplined manner and submission of their work in time not only teaches them discipline but also prepares them to do well in an environment of stress. If they are not penalized for inadvertent delays, they might learn to take it for granted and not put enough efforts to get things done on time. On the other hand, there might be very genuine instances like sickness or other factors which might have resulted in an otherwise sincere student, to delay his/her work. The universities can be considerate in such matters, on a case-to-case basis.

Finally, I am of the opinion that Universities are the perfect place to teach and preach discipline and it is very apt that the universities are strict in the matters of timelines of work assignments from students. It only brings about accountability among the students and helps to shape their personalities.