You should spend about 40 minutes in this task.

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Knowing another language has always been found useful. Understanding this, an increasing number of countries decide to teach children a foreign language at elementary school instead of secondary school. Both advantages and disadvantages of this should be considered.

The downsides are visible. The first is for the students themselves. It could be difficult for children aged 5 to 10 years old to learn their mother language and a new one at the same time. Kids this young tend to be playful and impatient since their personalities aren't fully developed. Secondly, due to this nature, the teachers need to put in extra effort for lessons clearly understood. The pressure can also be acknowledged by schools. Primary school teachers usually teach several subjects in only one class they’re responsible for so it makes sense for school administrators to hire teachers who are familiar with the foreign language as well. Additionally, parents are likely to find it hard to support their kids’ learning. Such youngsters need lots of hand-holding so if parents don’t speak the language, it’s nearly impossible for them to help out with homework. Furthermore, money and time investment can be a big issue for the government. All stages along the process, starting from doing extra research and planning to managing the delivery and making adjustments when appropriate, can take a federal-level budget and years of implementation. In brief, teaching students another language earlier at school may require time and effort from many parties involved.

On the other hand, this approach of teaching is believed to bring more benefits. Children might struggle to learn more than one language at a young age but this can be prevented if the curriculum is well-thought-out and carefully conducted. For instance, easy-to-confuse contents such as alphabets and numbers will need to be taught separately. As for parents, they might not be able to assist their children if they don’t know the language. However, they can always inform school staff of the problems their child is having. Another solution is getting a private tutor which could be sometimes expensive yet an effective way to give the child the assistance he or she needs. More importantly, the five or 6 year extra plays a key role in determining a student’s overall language proficiency. This means that the earlier they begin to learn the language, the easier and faster for them to master it. The fact is that kids within this age group are more open, receptive, and not afraid of making mistakes which is a crucial factor contributing to language success. The ability to not only knowing but using a second language efficiently can result in a better chance for future job opportunities. Besides being highly valued within the student’s country, when the majority of young people can speak another language, that nation’s population can become more competitive in the eyes of the world. The language learning process often involves the use of songs, movies, and games. Through these, young kids can develop many positive traits. Examples are cultural sensitivity, empathy, and tolerance towards things that are different from their familiar environment. People are the future of a country so if young children can grow into skilled and well-rounded adults, this can make an impressive impact on society as a whole. To sum up, the advantages of providing an additional language education at the elementary level are more profound.

In conclusion, while it may be challenging for teachers, parents, the government, and even the students who are taught a new language at elementary school, the effect of this has proved significant. Consequently, I believe the advantages outperform the disadvantages.