125.The following appeared in a health newsletter.

“A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear

helmets."

The conclusion of the originator's argument, that persuade the government to focus more on bicycle safety but less on helmets requirement, is resulted from a vague comparison between two studies concerning bicycles. While the author asserts several evidence as his base of reasoning, such deduction is still rife with holes and easily be challenged by other explanations. Thus, if more evidence could be cited, the argument from the writer should be supported.

Firstly, the writer begins with a statement that the cause of higher risk is the increasing rate of helmets wearing, which makes people more confident to take higher risky moves. Here, the comparison of the two studies' result is not fair. Because no details of the two studies are shown in the passage, such as research purview, sample size, conducting date and so on. Begin with research purview, the first study author mentioned is a country-range study, whereas the second's type is not given. Thus, it is unclear for us to compare the two if the latter one is a regional study, let alone undercut the former one by using another. The second pertains to sample size, even though let us pretend the research range of them is the same, both national, the number of participants within these studies also influence the results as well. There are far more factors except the number of sample affect the research, such as the age, the living place and so forth. On condition that one of the two has 1000 participants from 10 cities, another has 1000 subjects from 5 cities, the conclusion will be so different, not to mention the situation when these variables are different to each other. Additional to it, although the aim date underlying studies is during a same ten years, no evidence are shown to prove that these researches were worked coincidently. Hence, they should have shared the same information source if had the two work all together, in fact, tiny differences among the material and statistics maintained in different time crash the credibility. Without taking enough tenacious evidence into account, the author's argument seems weak and fragile.

Secondly, after comparing, what is discussing now is that the originator of such newsletter draws a ramification that the government should concentrate more on safety rule education instead of mandatory requirement of wearing helmets. Here, perhaps the author readily posits that only reason for an increase in bicycle accidents is bicyclists' fault, but there are no germane study data could prove that, despite two studies in the passage are true. So what if the murderer of higher accidents is cars? If that is true, consequently, more education on bicycle safety did not work out, strongly questioning the author's opinion. The suggestions are that, on the one hand, carefully figure out the cause of accidents, and on the other hand, educate people to bike safely while keeping the helmets wearing regulation continue.

In a nutshell, the argument as the author stands in the passage is flawed due to the considerable paucity of solid evidence and several pieces of wishy-washy findings that are inaccurate. So the writer should cite wider evidence like information of two studies and statistics of accidents of bicycle-related.