The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument is composed on the serious issue of accidents which are surely increasing day by day. However, the author's argument suggests that the reason for this increase in accidents are solely due to the increase in risk taking capacity of the cyclists because they feels safe while wearing helmets. Although, there could be some more reasons to explain this argument.

First of all author in this argument assumed that responsibility of the accident is only liable to cyclist only. For example there could be a accident between the car and the bicycle but this accident may have arose due to car's driver being drunk.

Another assumption that author has made is that the road conditions remains homogeneous throughout the tenure of 10 years. It may be the case that the quality of road may have been deteriorated through past couple of years due to frequent use and government hasn't spend enough funds in improving the road. Roads which are constructed 10 years ago might not be adequate for today's traffic as the number of vehicles travelling on road may have been increased.

However, it is obvious to assume that there must be a law regarding having a caretaker with the bicyclist of minor age. It is very much possible that this law might have been lifted in recent years due to public demands. This change in laws might have resulted into this drastically increase in amount of accidents.

Thus it is clear that increase in accidents are not only due the the helmets, but it could be explain with some other reasons too. Despite of having various reasons other than the helmet for the accidents of bicyclists, the government should launch education programs that concentrates on all the factors regarding the accidents. This program can also be accompanied with the social fairs in co-ordination with police department of the respective cities to raise the awareness among all type of vehicle drivers.