The following appeared in a health newsletter A ten year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets whereas today that number i

In the editorial from the health newspaper, the author concludes that the government should hold an educational program for bicycle users to make them aware that there are some other important factors than just wearing a helmet contributing to their safety while riding a bicycle. The author reaches this conclusion based on statistical data indicating that today, approximately 80 percent of bicyclists use helmets, while this percentage was nearly 35 percent ten years ago. On the other hand, the number of accidents caused by bicycle users has increased by 200 percent over this period since bicyclists feel safer due to the use of helmets and ride more carelessly. Nevertheless, while the conclusion drawn by the writer might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken its persuasiveness. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, is the number of people riding bicycles today the same as ten years ago? It is probable that the number of bicyclists has increased during the past ten years, and likewise, the number of accidents involving bicycle users. For instance, assume that ten years ago, there were only 100 bicycle users, 35 people of whom wore helmets. Today, there are 1000 bicyclists, 850 of whom use the protective helmet. This vast difference between bicycle users might result in an increase in the number of accidents even if they ride safer than before. If this scenario has merit, the author's assertion that the carelessness of bicyclists is to blame for the increase in the number of accidents is significantly hampered.

Secondly, are these two studies done by the same organization? As it is mentioned in the memo, the study regarding the number of people using helmets before and now and the study concerned with the increase in the number of accidents during the last ten years are conducted by two different organizations. There might be inconsistency in the result of these studies since they have been done independently. The argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, are the bicyclist are those who to blame for the increase in the number of accidents or pedestrians or drivers? Nowadays, people are more careless than ten years ago since they are more involved in doing simultaneous tasks. For example, more people today talk on the phone while walking or driving. It is probable that in most of these accidents, the one who is to blame is not the bicyclist but the inattentive driver or pedestrian. If it is true that bicyclists are not responsible for most of these accidents, the credibility of the writer's claim decreases substantially.

To recapitulate, it is probable that today's bicycle users are more inattentive than before since they think that the use of helmets warranties their safety, and making them aware of other safety factors results in a reduction in the number of accidents that include bicycle users. Nonetheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unanswered questions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the writer must provide answers to the following three questions: Are the number of people riding bicycles today the same as ten years ago?, are the two surveys conducted by the same organization or different organizations? are the bicyclists initiate most of the accidents or the careless driver or the inattentive pedestrian?