In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area has not increased or decreased. Children in the same area who are lactose intolerant, and who drink almond milk or soy milk, have not had the same increase in childhood obesity. The only clear explanation is that the introduction of the hormone is responsible for the increase in childhood obesity in that area.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more viable alternatives to the proposed explanation. Justify, with support, why the alternatives could rival the proposed explanation and explain how those explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument posit that the recent increase in childhood obesity is clearly caused by the use of cow milks. Also, assumes that the use of hormones on the cow has produced larger supply of milk, which in turn led to increase in obesity. And further suggest that the use of hormones on the cow should be stopped, in order to reduce the level of obesity in Jalikistan. As this might be truth, the premises on which the argument lies on is weak.

It could have been possible that there is no causal relationship between consumption of milk and obesity, and if probably the consumption of milk increases the chances of obesity among children, it could have been possible that any milk could have caused obesity. Probably, those who consumed cow milk also consumed other type of milk or combined it with other types of food which causes obesity.

In addition, if the cow milk is actually a factor for the increase in obesity, there could have been other factors causing the increase in milk production by the cow other than the use of the hormones. For example, maybe the cow now feed well or more attention is given to the cow that makes them produce more milk, and maybe it is not the use of the hormones that causes increase in milk production rate.

More so, it could have been possible that the current obesity in this locality is an endemic, and happens at a particular season, and those who are wealthy enough to eat good food will not probably be a victim of the disease. We can assume that those who did not drink the soy or almond milk could not afford it, hence, purchasing the cow milk, and those persons who could not also purchase the soy or almond milk also could not afford to eat other good food or access public health care.

Conclusively, the authors argument is less substantial and will only be valid if scientific research is carried out to show that the only cause of obesity among children is use the use of cow milk, and also that the use of the hormones on the cow caused an increase in production of milk by the cow. Until then, the authors argument is invalid