Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed

There are diverse perspectives to the fact that information should be withheld by political leaders rather than being widely accessible to the general public. Meanwhile, proposing that this information be withheld by the said government officials will simply cause more harm than good.

Its very important to first establish that the public are the electorate, that is, those who elect the political leaders in question into their respective offices/parastatals, and on campaigns to solicit for votes many at times these public officers pledge to be servant leaders and ensure that they focus on servitude to the public who are their electorate. Consequentially, these public officers, owe their allegiance to their electorate and one of this allegiance, is to see that the public are well informed of government administrations, policy making, and many others. So, the notion that information be withheld by the public officers will be against fundamental human right, one of which, is right to information, and in turn failure on the government in upholding her allegiance to her citizens.

More so, information being accessible to the general public will increase greater stance for transparency and help put the government in checks of its process, because, where there is no accountability there are higher tendencies that public funds and treasury will be mismanaged or squandered. To avoid this unscrupulous act, that is the same reason why most functional organization have a structure where information is being given in order to ensure accountability. If organizations see the need for this, political leaders should give information to the public, if not for anything, but for transparency.

Frantically, giving information by the government to the general public, will be advantageous not alone to the citizens, but also to the government, because this will be a medium to inform the citizens on the current state of the country, dispelling any form of doubt, and as well allowing the public know the capability of the government. For example, if the government enacts a particular policy for the removal of subsidy on a particular product, the public might most likely accept such policy because they have a prior information on the state of the country. Also, constantly outpouring information to the citizens, will also reduce the chances of the citizens, unions, or certain groups requesting from the government what the government cannot afford.

Conclusively, every political leader has to see the need to keep the public abreast of all of its plans and this should not be done intermittently, but should be on a regular basis, because that is what the government are there for - they are there for the people. Although, some will say that, giving vital information to the citizens will put the entire country at risk or there are chances that the information will be used by other countries to perpetuate evil on the said country. As this might sound logical, yet, not a very substantial argument for the fact that government should withhold information from the public, because, the government is first of all primarily responsible to her citizen before any concern for external forces, rather, if government withhold information from its citizen, there are higher tendencies for internal crises, and a city that stands against itself is more susceptible to fall or be attacked, but a united one will stand firm even in face of uncertainty. Public officials giving information to the public will be a wise decision in order to increase the level of fidelity the citizens have for the government.