1. The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

" Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of television in note purposes some alterations in the type of presented new programs during a day by television to gain more viewers and prevent the profit from the advertising of local companies. This is the advice which cannot be accepted as it stands since it relies on the two shaky assumptions all of which can be challenged in a way. The following paragraphs will list the problems of these considered assumptions and possible ways for the verification of them.

The first issue with the problem is the number of protests gained after the change in the duration of shown program types. Based on the note, there is the alteration on the ratio of covered program types in the late-night news, and the program is mostly focused on the national news instead of the local and weather news after the alteration. Besides, there is the increment of the complains which concern about the coverage of two reduced types of program. While this hypothesis in the first glance seems appealing, it is shaky since there is no clue about the numbers of complaints before the change. There is the possibility that the number of the protest which seeks more emphasize on news of the national event was higher than the current number of complaints. Thus, this change satisfied huge people in comparison to unsatisfied persons. In addition, the sentence of the complaint also does not represent that the main problems of the viewers are the allocated period for local and weather news. The concern over the coverage also can be considered as the distorted local news which presented during the late-night news program or the wrong forecast of the weather condition. In this case, the viewers are worried about the content of the programs rather than their duration. Therefore, the vague explanation over the increment of protest and concern of the viewer cannot be considered as the failure of the current alteration.

The second problem with the issue is the second premise in which the writer linked the canceled advertisements of local businesses as a benchmark of the unsatisfaction of these companies with this change. The relation of the cancellation of advertisement and this change is skeptical since another potent issue can cause this event. For example, there is the possibility that another TV channel accepts the advertisements with lower prices, consequently, firms wish to spend less money on the advertisement. Or there is a reduction of viewer’s number during the late-night in comparison of the morning programs; thus, the companies switch their ad shows time from night to morning. Consequently, TV does not miss its revenue from these companies.

Finally, at the end of the note the manager concludes that according to the failure of losing viewer and reduction of revenue from advertisements at night, the TV should focus of Local and weather news during the whole day. This generalization of one possible success in the specific period of the day to the whole entire day is not a logical and reliable action. With the assume of the accuracy of the manager’s hypothesis on the attraction of the local and weather news for viewer and companies during the late-night, there should not be the expectation of the same result over the entire day since there is the alteration of viewer’ type during the night. For instance, while during the morning the TV is mostly seen by housewives, during the afternoon its dominant viewers are children, who the local and weather news are not attractive types of news which wishing to watch.

To wrap it up, according to the all above-mentioned reasons, the two rearing examples of the manager and its unreliable over generalization of the result is not a logical and exact indicator of the alteration’s failure.