43 The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council."Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the

In the argument, the author tells that because of the town West Egg's residents has made strong commitment for recycling, the available space in town's garbage land should last longer than it was predicted. The author's argument is flawed for numerous reasons. In the argument, the author has made a strong conclusion based on very weak evidence.

To begin, in the argument, the author claims that the amount of recycled material has gone twice than before. But the author fails to provide sufficient information about the type of the material that is being recycled. For example, if the plastic materials are being recycled more than twice whereas other types of material recycling has diminished then the total garbage recycle could have been the same amount as it was.

Furthermore, in this argument, the author claims that over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey would do more recycling in the future. Here, first of all, the word future is a vague term. It could means one year or 10 years. So it does not make any sense at all.

Moreover, over ninety percent people made positive response does not confirm that they will be practically active at more recycling. The author could not make conclusion based on such a virtual response.

The argument could have been more strengthened if the type of the materials was provided that is being recycling more than twice. And also the author could give sufficent information or example that will confirm that the respondents of the survey will be active in more garbage recycling.

In conclusion, the argument as several weak points that can not be overlooked so easily and the conclusion is not strong enough to convince the readers. However, as it stands, the argument is flawed for indicated reasons.