Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Colleges and Universities are the backbones of a nation. Those are also very important parts of any student's life because the success of any individual student depends on how much useful effort they had given in their college or university life. If universities and colleges treat sports and social activities as important as classes and libraries, some people I'm sure would believe that it is a great idea and others would disagree. In my view, those are not as important as classes and libraries and should not get equal financial support for the following reasons.

The main reason is that providing equal financial support will cost a lot of money and which is unnecessary. An academic institution is not a place to practice sports or any social activities. It's the only suitable for study and research. As a result, it is unnecessary things and cost a great deal of money to support sports and social activities. For example, when I was in university, I used to play football regularly. I used to be an active member of a sports organization at my university. The name of my organization was "Black". There I had a good relationship with the president, as because he was my departmental senior. I come to know from him that he earns a lot of money by running this organization and that money came from the university fund which he did not spend all of them for the organization. I also saw that my classmates who were involved in sports or other social activities did poor result in the exam. And eventually, they are now struggling in their personal life as because of their poor result didn't help them much to get a better job. As you can see, this financial support was unnecessary as because it did not help the students in their future life. And spending that money for the academic purpose rather than sport or culture will be more helpful for the students of the institution.

Another reason is that supporting sports and social activities will hamper institution environments as a place for study and research. Sports and cultural activities in an institution will create a lot of noise and increase traffic congestion in that area. And the students of that institution will suffer from distraction while studying and may these disturbance inhibits them to acquire their desired result. For instance, when I was a university student, in my second year, our vice chancellor was changed. The newly appointed Chancellor was very fond of sports and other social activities. During his time he funded a lot of money for other activities such as sports, cultures, and others. As a result, soon our campus become more crowded than ever before, a lot of cultural and social activity started to bloom. Sometimes it was hard to concentrate in the library and classes as because some other cultural activity was creating a lot of sounds. And eventually, in that year 20 percents students were failed to pass in their departmental course which was unprecedented for the last 10 years. This experience taught me that supporting sports and social activities are detrimental to the institution's academic environments.

In sum, though some may support the plan to provide financial help for sports and social activities at universities and colleges. It will not only cost a lot of unnecessary money but also pollutes the academic environment of an institution. Every universites and colleges should spend money only for academic purpose.