According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument relies on a report about students cheating at colleges and universities. It is said that Groveton College has vanished cheating through honor code. However, it is not valid to say it because many students may lie to faculty member just to take advantages over others.

Moreover, it also states that replacing the system by honor code shows that the numbers of cheating cases have dropped meaningfully. But where is the source of information taken from? It is not clearly said about the source of the data. If it were said that the data were taken from a magazine or newspaper, then it would be worth to talk about the data. In addition, the number of students entering and leaving the university varies. Therefore, it is not possible to be clearly sure about the dropping.

Furthermore, the argument states about a recent survey where it is said that the cheating cases is less to happen with the honor code than without it. However, the survey may not be accurate having seen the fact that maybe not all the students could be interviewed. Thus, it is not right to say about the survey.

Finally, it is said that adopting the honor code may work for other colleges and universities. But, if it is not clear that it is going to work for Groveton students, then it is not probably going to work for other colleges and universities.