According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The author suggests an honor codes has to be executed for all colleges to cut cheating among students. some musing over evidence before taking any steps is first very much in order.

The author claims that an average of thirty cheating cases reported by teacher and twenty-one cases reported by students then reduced to fourteen after five years. some credentials of the statements have to be presented to make the honor system more cogent. The original censoring and honor code are totally disparate ways to report cheating. The former one is reported by teacher and the latter by pupils. because the methodologies are different, it can’t say which one is more effective by the number of the cheating case reported before the correlation between two system has to be presented. The argument could be true if all students are honest and diligent and responsible for reporting cheating. And earlier censoring system by teachers reports repetitively for the same cheating cases. However, the students could cover each other for cheating. For example, there are real thirty cheating cases and nine of them are covered and not reported by students, so only twenty-one cheating cases are reported. if pupils coordinate and cheat together and because there is no other examiners in honor code, some cases would not be reported conceivably. Thus, the effectiveness of honor system is unsubstantiated and has to be presented with more evidence.

Additionally, the author claims that a recent survey reporting pupils less likely to cheat with honor code. The statement is valid only if survey is valid, reliable and fully representative. For example, the questionnaire results are carried out by three independent survey companies, reporting ninety-five percent of pupils agree anonymous. Nevertheless, the survey content could be designed with inclination. For instance, there are ten pages questionnaire and only 1 question about honor code. Besides, the survey content is described like this, which one is more effective for avoiding cheating: honor code versus teacher censor. Such condition tends to lead pupils to choose honor code because they don’t want to be checked by teachers every examination. Therefore, counterpart evidence is required to be responded to compensate the gap.

Even if the questionnaire is fully representative, reliable and valid. The reporting results to the practical situation is unclear. some credentials of this linkage lack, the correlation of two relationships needs to be presented. The statement could be right if there is an evidence demonstrating that higher recognition of honor code, less cheating cases actually happen. In contrast, it could be interpreted diametrically. For example, pupils are not telling the truth because they want to leave good impression to teachers and meet expectation from school, so the survey would be meaningless. it does not reflect the practical situation. The writer has to provide related credentials to substantiate the argument.

In order to make the argument more convincing, the author would have to provide more evidence as above mentioned.