According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

In this argument, the first report’s claim that students’ cheating is on the rise is highly doubtful, because there is not any specific evidence to support this claim. Second, Groveton College said they have successfully improved the students cheating number by adopting an honor code is also doubtful, due to no considering some possibility. Finally, the arguer makes the poor connection between Groveton College and other schools.

To begin with, the validity of the sampling methodology conducted in a recent report is doubtful. Because this report fails to offer specific evidence to support the assumption, people cannot know what kind of students and how many students attend the survey. This may be true that the ratio of cheating to no cheating students is high, but it is difficult to say that all students’ cheating trend is on the rise. These students who attended the survey may have a cheating habit. Therefore, if not offer specific evidence, the validity of the survey is doubtful.

Besides, based on the factor that reducing cheating after adopting an honor code, the editor infers that adopting an honor code should be responsible for reducing cheating. However, the sequence of these events does not suffice to prove that schools adopt the honor code caused the reducing students cheating. It might have resulted from some other events instead: easier examination or high quality of education to just a few possibilities. Therefore, reducing cheating could not result from the adopting honor code. Without ruling out scenarios such as these, the editor cannot establish a cause-and-effect relationship between reducing students cheating and adopting the honor code.

Further, even though it is true that Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating after adopting an honor code, the arguer’s recommendation relies on what might be a poor analogy between Groveton College and all schools. However, the level of students, examination criteria may be different. So, it is hard to copy the methods of Groveton College to other schools. In short, without accounting for such possible differences between Groveton College and others, the arguer cannot prove that other schools will reap similar benefits from proposed methods.

In conclusion, the report should provide more specific evidence to support that the rate of cheating students is on the rise. Second, Groveton College must rule out some possibility to ensure a more reasonable assumption. Finally, some possible differences between Groveton College and other schools have to consider to create a more cogent recommendation.