To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that a public official must hold the highest moral and ethical standards in order to be an effective leader. Although the higher moral and ethical standards could not directly indicate that an officer have the ability to manage a country, the first condition being a leader is holding the highest ethical and moral standards; Thus, I strongly agree with the speaker.

To begin with, leaders must hold the highest ethical and moral standards, because they have social obligation. Leaders have to regard the public interests as first priority rather than personal interests; They should not sacrifice public interests because of personal interests. The African conflict is an illustration of this view point. For personal interest, Africa’s leaders launch many brutal wars in Africa without minding victims. If leaders lose the ethical and moral standards, their countries are incapable of operating normally. In a word, leaders must maintain the highest moral and ethical standards in order to fulfill their responsibility.

Secondly, leaders holding the highest moral and ethical standards will facilitate development of country well, since they plan the country’s development in the long run. In the process of planning project, they consider the overall situation, because the leaders having high ethical and moral standards indicates they can consider other’s feeling. For example, Obama, who has no negative evaluation, is a greatness leader. In his presidency, he addressed the global financial crisis and included a major stimulus package, including legislation to reform health care and a major financial regulation reform bill, and the end of a major US military presence In Iraq. In sum, leaders who the highest moral and ethical standards can make country stable developing.

On the other hand, considering from a short-term, moral and ethical standards is the basis that people select a leader, and is the premise of being a leader. In the election, voters evaluate the candidates’ ability based on candidates’ ethical and moral standards. If candidates lose the baseline of the moral and ethical standards, they will lose the probability of becoming a leader. For instance, Hillary Clinton’s email controversy, this bad news from Clinton had decreased average lead in the polls. As a result, she loses the probability of becoming a leader. In brief, moral and ethical standards is the base that voters select a leader.

To sum up, first of all, leaders must hold the highest moral and ethical standards, because they have social responsibility. Then, leaders having high moral and ethical standards will make country developing well in the long run, Finally, moral and ethical standards is the foundation that voters select a leader. With these reasonings, I totally agree with what the speaker says.