According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Cheating in academic tests is pervasive across almost all universities in the world. There isn't a quick fix for this problem. That is why this problem is still prevalent. Enforcing an honor code might be one of the ways to reduce the cases of cheating, but we still cannot be sure if it is foolproof. The passage claims that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's and do away with strict monitoring by teachers in order to reduce the cases of cheating. However, the passage makes a few assumptions which leads to several questions.

To begin with, Groveton college has seen reduction in number of cheating cases after making the students agree that they would not cheat on the tests, and report to a faculty member if they suspect other students have cheated. This could possibly be because the students have simply agreed to the honor code and are willing to overlook any cheating done by their fellow classmates. Is it possible that students don't really care if the others who take the exam with them cheat or not? Besides, how many students would possibly have time to monitor their fellow classmates? These questions have to be answered to determine if the less number of cheating in tests reported was due to the reason that many were unreported.

Furthermore, the author leaves us with questions regarding any other reasons for reduction in cheating numbers. Is there an online proctor system in place? Are there any non-faculty members assigned to monitor the test? Is there any other way the students who take up the test are under surveillance, for example, CCTV cameras? If any of the above are true, then we can see how the honor code is not the cause for the reduction in cheating numbers.

The assumption made by the author that the survey was legitimate gives rise to the following questions about its scope and verity. Was the survey conducted for an adequate number of people in order to make a conclusion? How can anyone prove that the students were honest during the survey? Or have they only answered in such a way so that they do not get monitored by their teachers? What do the teachers think about this survey and its conclusions? All these questions need to be answered in order to determine whether it is true that enforcing honor codes can help reduce cheating.

The argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, it is extremely important to carefully assess the various factors invloved in the problem before coming to a conclusion. It is vital to answer the above questions and find out whether the honor code was the actual reason for the drop in cheating numbers. If, based on the fallacy that the author believes, all colleges and universities take a step to eliminate faculty monitoring and switch to an honor code system, there can be negative ramifications. It might also lead to a decline in the quality of the education system everywhere. Thus, it is prudent to carefully think about the next steps so as to not lead all the colleges and universities into a precarious situation.