According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument states that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies in spite of increasing positive movie reviews; thus, the company should assign more budget to inform the public about these movies through advertising. However, several points which are made in the argument do not have concrete support and thus, if these points were to be false, the conclusion would be baseless.

First, the author needs to answer the question whether the number of people attending Super Screen-produced movies decreased even though the number of people attending other movies did not decrease. If the total number of people attending movies had decreased sharply, it would be logical to conclude that the number of people watching Super Screen-produced movies would also fall. If such a phenomenon was due to a specific reason, for example, an ongoing war which lead to massive amounts of inflation, then increasing the advertising budget would not persuade the public to watch the movies. Thus, the argument must provide answers to the question whether only the number of people watching the Super Screen-produced movies decreased or the decrease was consistent irrespective of the movie. If the answer is that the overall demand for movies decreased, increasing the advertising budget would not be as effective as say, decreasing the cost of movies. On the other hand, if the overall demand for movies was not affected, it would be wise to increase the advertising budget for the movies as well as check whether the movies produced are good enough to attract public.

Second, the argument needs to answer the question from where were the positive reviews collected - whether these reviews were available to the public, that is, printed in newspapers, magazines; shown as a poll on television etc. or were letters sent to the production company commending their movie. If the reviews are public, then it is likely that people have already seen them; however, they still were not convinced to watch the movies. Then, increasing the budget for advertising is unlikely to have any considerable effect on the number of people watching the movies. On the other hand, if the answer to question is that these reviews were not public, showing these reviews to the public in terms of advertising could be extremely beneficial for the movies. The public could have been dissuaded by the lack of reviews for the movie and making these reviews available to public could help greatly in improving the image of the company as well as the movies in the people's eyes.

Finally, the movies might be of critical acclaim - that is, the movies are art films and portray subtle characteristics of a good movie, however, it is possible that the public does not like such movies and prefers movies which are entertaining. Thus, the argument must answer the question about the similarity between the general likings of the public and the type of movies produced by the company. If these are similar, increasing advertisements would help boost the number of people watching the movies.

However, as the author fails to answer these questions in the argument provided, it is very difficult to believe in the author's conclusions. If the author were to provide answers to the aforementioned questions, then his/her position could have been strengthened. But because these questions are not answered, the argument is flawed and the conclusion is baseless.