"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is based on many vague terms that need to be addressed. Primarily, the author assumes that the interest of all the viewers is same and advertisement currently done by the company is insufficient.

The argument is primarily based on the causes of number of viewers decline found by the report of marketing department. What proves the validity of the report? When preparing the report, did marketing department took into consideration the interest of people? The report is based on the data of how many days? It might be the case that the people who reviewed the movie were all fond of content shown by company and report is devoid of reviews from all the people watching the movies. If all of the people have reviewed the movie with majority of them founding the contents of good quality and report's data is of whole year then the lack of advertising seems a plausible argument.

The argument is based on a major fallacy and that proves it to be somehow invalid. Initially, the argument reports that the number of people attending the Super Screen produced movies have declined and later suggests that there is lack of awareness. How it can be true? If people were lacking in awareness, there should be some other reason for such decline. Therefore, there might be the case that people who left watching movies did not find the content of their interest when advertised by the company. In this case, if decline in number of viewers was because of lack in advertisement by the company and the movies played in this year are of same content as of last year, then boosting the advertisement seems reasonable.

The argument suggests that by next year, the company's share of its budget for advertisement should be increased. How much increase in the share will result in increase of the viewers? What would be channels through which the advertisement would be done and how much would they cost? If answer to this question results in significant raise in share that outweigh the actual revenue generated by movies, then it is better to run the business in same condition. In order for this argument to be strengthened, it must first of all prove the validity of the report by justifying the time period on which report is based and number of people who reviewed movie in comparison to their interests. Secondly, it should justify the provide the acutal figure of the share that needs to be increased.

Therefore, it can be seen that the argument is full of vague terms that need to be answered, in order to believe that decline in number of viewers is because of decline in advertisement.