Analytical Writing Assessment Question

The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the letter mentions that the town councli of Balmer Island will limit the number of moped rentals from 50 per day to 30 per day for each moped rental company to reduce the number of moped accidents during summer. The author predicts that this initiative will reduce the number of accidents as evident in the case of Torseau Island who implemented such practice. However, there could be alternative explanatoins that would justify the reduction in accidents in Torseau or weaken the author's argument.

Firstly, the author mentions that there was a decrease in moped accidents by 50 percent in Torseau Island. However, the author fails to expound if such decrease was solely due to resticting moped rentals or there are other factors as well. There is a possibility that the population on Torseau Island did not increase as much as it did in the previous years and hence, there were less people using mopeds. This reduction in moped usage must have accounted for the decrease in the moped accidents. If this turns out to be true, then the author's line of reasoning will be significantly weakened.

Secondly, the reduction in moped accidents on Torseau Island may be in part due to implementation of other practices as well. One of them could be the officials in Torseau Island made sure that people were sufficiently trained about using the moped safely before letting them to ride on road. Furthermore, they might have enacted provisional traffic laws inorder to make using moped more comfortable and safe. If the above scenarios have merit, then the author's prediction that moped accidents would decrease on Balmer Islands only by restricting the number of moped rentals will fall flat on its face.

Finally, it seems fatuous to come to a conclusion based on the findings on a different Island without mentioning the similarities and differences between both the islands. It is possible that Torseau Island has broad and smooth roads, and sophisticated traffic management system that supplements restricting moped rentals in decreasing the accidents. However, this may not be the case with Balmer Island. In contrast, Balmer Island roads might be narrow and bumpy with improper traffic management system. If the above differences turns out to be true, then the authors arguement is significantly weakened.

Therefore, the arguemnt, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the author does not provide any information that would contradict any of the alternate explanations mentioned above. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the author can provide details that would help scrutinize the above alterante explanations.