"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales

The business plan presented by Apex Corporation is fairly reasonable, but a large part of the argument is supported by unwarrented assumptions and is extremely flawed making the argument completely unreasonable. The following paragraphs examines the assumptions made by the author of the argument.

The first ever sentence says there is an increased demand for artisan coffee. This is an unsupported claim. This is the whole point of the argument and this assumption makes it an unwarrented one. Another assumption in the same sentence is that the 'Gourmet Select' variety of coffee is what artisan coffee means. The company must've had feedback sessions, tasting sessions, etc. to make a hard stand point to make such a drastic move.

The assumption that people will buy the new coffee line through word-of-mouth advertising is a major flaw. Why will people leave their regular coffee and try a new coffee that they have not heard of before? This point can be made more reasonable by starting off the sales my giving out free samples of the new coffee, so that , people would buy the new coffee line by experiencing it beforehand.

Another assumption is that major restaurant chains would buy the new coffee. No evidence is given in the argument as to under what claims would the restaurants buy the new coffee. This part of assumption is completely neglected in the argument.

Also the television and radio advertising campaign is unwarrented. This assumption has no evidence that this will work out. The company must have given some proof that this type of strategy has worked out before in some other product similar to 'Gourmet Select'.

If the above mentioned issues and assumptions are corrected by giving reasonable evidences and proof, the argument will be valid and will be a strong business plan by Apex Corporation to achieve the 'top sellers in coffee market' standard.