The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead. This is a healthy practice and can be followed in any situation, where there is a responsibility of leadership. The following paragraphs has examples and scenarios that supports my stance and to make my argument reasonable.

The judicial system of any free country is built upon the value of feedback. When a leader of a particular party is in power it is compulsive that the opposition party along with any general public to evaluate the actions of the ruling team and critizise them in every way possible. Also it is the feedback of the people that elects the leader of an entire government. It is important to provide feedback whenever and whereever possible to run a healthy and successfull government.

Another important attribute of providing feedback is that, it gives the people, who provide feedback, a sense of self worth. By asking to provide feedback, the people get the satisfaction that there is a combined effort in developing whatever the leader is upto. Eventhough it is upto to the leader to accept the feedback, even the small thought that the teamplayers have a small say in the whole picture means a lot to them.

Sometimes there are situations where it is best not to encourage feedbacks. For example in negative places like prison, the inmates are not in best terms with the jailers. Encouraging feedback in this kind of situation is not advisable as it is a waste of time and effort as we know what will be the result.

However, by accepting feedback the leader also has his own benifits. The leader knows exactly how his team feels on his every move and what his team thinks about his work. This makes a ground for the leader to improve on himself by identifing his mistakes and to improve on it whereever possible. The whole feedback theory has a moral ground on which the leader can build a better himself.

The whole theory of feedback is a new ground in many places. Since people used to blindly follow where their leader takes them in older times (during kings rule) this new concept of feedback sets a higher moral ground where it is the cobined effort of the common people and their leader that brings them to greatness. Feedbacks are not only advantageous to the team members but also to their leader. So having feedbacks and acting upon them is a thing that only best leaders do.