Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the purported decline in deer population is as a result of the deer being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea is not entirely logically convincing since it ignores certain assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that the sample used in this report is a representative sample. This cannot be confirmed to be true since the argument does not state explicitly how the report was done or the period when the observations were made by the local hunters. It could happen that the time the local hunters made their observations, the deer were in search of food in other islands or were asleep. Also, it could happen that the local hunters were inexperienced and could not tell the difference between Arctic deer and other animals that lives on the island. If these cases are to be true, then the argument is flawed and the conclusion cannot hold.

Second, the argument fails to address how the recent global warming trend which have caused the sea ice to melt correlates with plants on which the arctic deer feed on is not growing. It could also happen that the reports on global warming trend is false and that there are other reasons why the ice will melt. Could it be that the decline in the deer population is as a result of the deer not being able to reproduce and are going extinct owing to a particular incurable disease? Could it be that the decline in population of the deer is as a result of predatory attacks by other animals who feed on them? These are questions that the argument fails to answer, and for which the argument could be flawed and the conclusion cannot hold. In this case, if such scenarios hold, then the argument is flawed and conclusion cannot hold.

Finally, the argument omits the possibility that the decline in the deer’s population could be as a result of the deer having to eat themselves for food. It also unwarrantably connects the recent trend of global warming to the deer being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns if such scenarios hold, then the argument is flawed and conclusion cannot hold.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The reasons provided to support the conclusion is not sufficient enough to support the conclusion because the report from the local hunters could be flawed owing to various reasons as explained above.

In conclusion, the argument might have been strengthened if it provided reasons to show that the sample used in the report was a representative, or that the reason for the decline in deer’s population is not restricted to the trend of global warming.