Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt suggests that, there has been a decline in the deer populations near the Arctic region. This evidence provided to support the argument is that, due to global warning, the sea ice has melted resulting in the deer’s being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. However, before this argument is properly evaluated, the author must provide answers to the following three questions.

To begin, is global warming the sole reason for decline of deer populations? The ‘local hunters’ do not seem like a credible source to comment on the declining deer populations. As they themselves hunt deers, it might be possible that the decline in populations was caused by excessive hunting. As the arctic region battles harsh climate, the handful of people living in those regions have to hunt for their survival. Deers provide an excellent source of meat and nutrition and are a part of the local’s dietary intake. Thus, it might have been the case that, due to particularly harsh climate there was no other food source available and most families had resorted to hunting of deers.

Moreover, global warming is not a new phenomenon. Global warming has been consistently happening since the last 3 to 4 decades due to various factors. But that does not mean that the entire sea ice has melted. There might still be enough ice so as to facilitate the migration of deers during the winter season. So, it is highly likely that until now the deers have adapted to the changes in their environment. They would have found other sources of food or would have changed their migratory patterns by now according to the changes in their habitats. Although global warming might have had an effect, without further scientific evidence regarding exact migratory patterns, it is difficult to comment on the matter.

Furthermore, there is a chance that some diseases might have spread to the deers causing the decline in population. No evidence was given about the health of the deer population. There is also a possibility that the ratio of male and female deers was disturbed (perhaps due to unwarranted hunting) and this has resulted in decline in population as the number of mating chances reduced. So, less number of deer calfs were born over a certain period of time.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above mentioned questions and provide concrete evidence (perhaps in the form of a research study) rather than relying on ‘local hunters’, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the argument about the correlation between global warming and decline in deer populations.