Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The speaker argues that the Super Screen Movie Production Company should allocate a greater share of coming year's budget focussing in advertisement by indicating that the reason of less attendance of people in movie last year is mainly due to lack of awareness on people about the good quality production of movie from that company. The speaker mention the review of movie viewer from past year in order to bolster his conclusion. The argument seems plausible at first glance , however, under meticulous analysis, it suffered from some severe flaws.The speaker, therefore, must give the answer of some questions before reaching the conclusion.

First off, the author assumes that the number of attendee last year is the sole indicator for the number of people attending in coming days. The data of one year , however, cannot provide us enough support for prediction of future. And hence , the speaker must comes out with the statistical data of the presence of the people in previous years ,and based on those data, comparison will be reliable. Perhaps, in the previous year, Most of the people of that locality may have drain abroad and it could be a reason for that decrease in the attendie. May be the increase residents of people in this locality increase the number of movie viewer this year. Hence , in order to back the argur conclusion, this question need to be adressed muticulously.

Second, the author assumes that the positive review from the viewer foresee the improved quality of the movies. How can we easily accept that the review is representative of all the moview viewer from past many years? Perhaps , the reviewer of the movie were the relatives of the producer, or may be the movie this time is best of all the movies company ever produced. Without details on about the reviewer , their representative participation, it will be render fallacy to assume improved quality of movie.

Thirdly, the author assumes that advertisement is the crucial factor affecting no attrition of movie viewer and hence advertisement should be given priority. This is a more striking flaws that the author assume. Perhaps, there are other factors for decreasing no of viewer: another producer company establishing nearby, ticket price of movie, and location of the movie company. Without detail research in this factors, it is implausible to draw on conclusion hastily.

In sum, the speaker argument is well-presented but far-fetched with lot of questions to be answered. The striking questions to be solved are whether the past year data is sole reason for predicting quality of movie, validity of review from reviewer, and other possible contributing factors for decrease in number of viewer. If the speaker comes up with the answer of these questions, then speaker's argument will be accepted, otherwise, the argument render specious