In an attempt to improve highway safety Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways But this effort has failed the number of accidents has not decreased and based on reports by the highway patrol man

The writer cites about the need of new improvised road projects that Prunty County should implement in order to decrease the rate of road accidents, as enforcing the 45 mph speed limit rule wasn't adequate enough to lower the rate. Furthermore, it is assumed that administering such projects will ensure the safety of drivers and reduce the rates of road accidents.

Firstly, the writer states that even after the enforcement of 45 mph speed limit rule, the number of accidents has not decreased and many drivers are going beyond the speed limit. However, the writer has failed to bolster this statement due to lack of concrete evidence like the number of people exceeding the speed limit; is the number adequate enough to be take into consideration. Furthermore there is no mention of any other factors responsible for road accidents such as the condition of roads, lack of visibility due to insufficient lighting and the width of the roads. The writer seems to have assumed speed as the only cause and failed to strengthen his assumption.

Secondly, the writer urges the Prunty County to undertake similar road development projects that Butler County completed five years ago. The writer makes an attempt to support this statement by stating that the rate of road accidents decreased by 25 percent. However, still the lack of more data is leading to weaken this statement. The amount invested in completing those projects; for example, the financial ability of the Prunty County may not be as good as Butler County. The exact number of decrease in the rate of accidents; for example, if we consider the rate of accidents as 100 people per year then according to data provided the current rate will be 75 people per year. Thus, even after five years does this amount of decrease has enough weight considering the time and amount of money spent? Hence, due to lack exact figures has crippled the writer's statement.

In the end, due to insufficient data and failing to take other variables into consideration the writer's statements could not be agreed with completely.