In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author suggests that Prunty County should take the same road improvement project as Butler County in order to lower its accident rate and improve highway safety. Plausible as it seems to be, however, there are a lot of evidences, which, if not investigated, would dramatically reduce the persuasiveness of the argument.

The first piece of evidence needed is regarding the credibility of the information reported by the highway patrol. It seems that more accidents happened after limiting the speed, hence, this policy seems to be invalid. However, more information should be proved about the level of the accidents. Maybe the majority of the accidents are just slight and moderate, and few people was hurt in the accidents. Yet accidents happened before were more serious than now and caused a large amount of people injured and possession lost. If this is the case, it will dramatically weaken the recommendation.

The second piece of evidence involving the geological feature of the two places. The author assumes that it has been proved that the three implements on road conditions in Butler was affected and did benefit the highway safety. However, these may not work well in Prunty County if the two places are significantly different from each other in road condition. For example, if the roads in Butler County are mostly lied inside the hills which made driver hard to acknowledge what the situation is like 2 miles forehead, it is valid for these roads to improve visibility at dangerous intersections. But if the roads in Prunty County are in a good geological location and are mostly located in the plains where have no obstacles to block the drivers’ sights, and then, there is no necessary to do so.

The last evidence needs to scrutinize is about the real reason for the more reported accidents. The author assumes, without justification, that it is the relatively low limited speed leads to the higher accident cases. However, there could be other explanations. Maybe driver in Prunty County haven't noticed the speed limit sign on the road which required under 45 mph, while they are familiar with the limited speed in near-by counties generally under 55 mph. If this scenario has merit, maybe Prunty County should find some way to inform drivers more clearly rather than caring about the road conditions. Besides, more information also needed related the safety awareness of the drivers in Prunty. If the drivers do not have a good habit of driving, which plays the key role of the causes of most accidents, then Prunty County should open some safety education courses instead of putting their attention mostly on the road policy.

Overall, this argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, if the author is able to investigate the evidence listed above, it is possible to fully evaluate the soundness of the recommendation that whether Prunty County should take the same implements as Bulter County.