On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

In the presented letter author argues that reducing quantity of mopeds rented by half will lead to 50% decrease in number of moped accidents. However author’s conclusion might be fallacious as it based on potentially unwarranted assumptions.

To substantiate this claims author needs to provide information on the contribution of rented mopeds in total moped population on island. If the quantity of rented mopeds are very small in comparison to privately owned moped, decreasing the moped rented would not have any significant on accident numbers. Also more information regarding the cause of accidents need to be provided to draw any conclusion. If the cause of accidents are poor road condition or improper traffic management author’s recommendation would be worthless. Also as the motive of the author is to reduce pedestrian-moped accidents it might be more fruitful to improve the pedestrian path which may be a potential reason of accidents.

Moreover author argues that by reducing the number of moped rentals by half the island will achieve 50% reduction in moped accidents. No information is provided to support thee numbers. Author cites the example of nearby island of Seaville which realized the desired result of 50% reduction by implementing similar limits. However it might be possible that moped rental reduction was one of the many steps that Seaville adopted to achieve the target. It is plausible the rental moped reduction had little or no effect on accident numbers. Also it is not scientific to assess to the effect of a policy only from the results of one year. More information on the performance of the policy in a longer time frame is required to ascertain it’s effectiveness. Even if we assume that policy realized results in Seaville it might be possible that it does not work in Balmer. The islands can have very different road network, speed limit laws, traffic management, pedestrian arrangements which can affect the results of the policy.

Conclusively, author does not provide tenable argument to support his recommendation. With each enumerated argument being potentially unwarranted, the conclusion which is based on such an inconclusive argument is not tenable