"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

• Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author on the case of usage of mopeds during summer months in Balmer Island has stated a lot of interesting and valid points. But all points stated by the author here may not entirely help the residents of Balmer Island to see a great reduction in accidents.

The author has stated that by limiting the number of rentals of mopeds from 50 to 25, the number of accidents will reduce by half. This in not necessarily true. Yes, a reduction number of vehicles can reduce the accidents. But accidents can be caused by a variety of reasons. The reasons may be due to bad or negligent driving, bad roads, etc. As long as the true factors for the accidents are not considered, we cannot entirely be sure that reducing the number of rentals will reduce the number of accidents.

Further reducing the number of mopeds could be counter productive. This is because since the number of vehicles are lesser, the roads become freer and the riders tend to move the vehicles faster. This will make the accidents which could occur, become more deadly and destructive than it was before.

The act of reducing moped rentals, will force the locals to go back to cars which will again lead t serious problems like increased traffic etc. Also when comparing accidents involved with cars and mopeds, the former tends to be more destructive and deadly.

This restriction could also lead to problems from the locals who live their as they not prefer this act.

The author has also stated that since the the reduction of mopeds plan was successful in the neighboring Island of Seaville, the same results can be expected here. But this again may not necessarily be true. Each Island or town, however similar they may be are not the same. The people their and here are different, the streets are different, the landscape is different. This means in spite of being similar, the results of the same actions could lead to different results.

Finally, from the above statements, despite the author's statements being very logical and helpful to the citizens, the authorities should do through research and surveys before making any decision regarding this as the danger of the change not working and back firing is high.