"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit

Thought the author puts forward a vivd and insightful description of how a reduction in the moped rentals can greatly reduce the road accidents on Balmer island, there are plenty of flaws and holes on which the argument is built upon. The author has used several statistics which are baseless and ambiguous. The town council must verify the facts and assumptions that the author has made and look past them to make an informed decision.

The author in his argument states that on the island of seaville a reduction in rentals resulted in a decrease in the overall accidents on the island, what the author failed to address is the fact that both island Balmer and Seaville are not similar to begin with. There is an underlying assumptions that the population, weather conditions and the road of the island are similar, which might not be true. What seems to work on seaville might bring an insignificant or exacerbating change for Balmer island.

The primary assumption that the author has made is that there is a direct correlation in the between reduction of rental moped on Balmer island and the reduction in the number of accidents, the accidents that do take place on balmer island may be a result of careless driving, bad weather conditions and sporadic maintenance of roads which lead to the majority of accidents. Even if the fact is true one cannot say for sure that the people of the island won’t resort to other means of transportation to make up for the reduction in the number of mopeds which in turn might result in other forms of accidents on the island.

The author has used tried to convince the council by stating the facts and assumptions which are not upto the mark and require a lot of unstated conditions to be satisfied. Though the author used several justifications to prove his claim in the hindsight one can not conclude that the suggestions made by the author could be materialised in a real life situation.