Because the future will be dominated by technology we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students If our students take these classes they ll all be able to get high paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives

This speech is flawed in many areas. True that the future will be dominated by technology since it is growing proliferate and one can expect its dominance in the future but that doesn't mean it should be mandated to everyone. The argument is not at all considering the interest of the high school students whether he or she is interested or not in computer programming. And how will the learning of computer programming will beneficial to the student who wants to pursue his career in arts it will be simply wasting his time. Which can be put into better use to shape up his or her future. The argument just assumes that every high school student will be interested in learning computer programming after seeing its growth in industries. The second flaw with the speech is the statement of "high paying programming jobs in the speech and lead fulfilling lives”. lets break down this statement, high paying programming jobs-one cannot guarantee a high paying job to everyone it varies from subject to subject in this case student to student .the argument is assuming that this trend of high paying jobs will continue in the near future which is preposterous because maybe with the increasing opportunities in this field it might create the more in number of programming engineers which may lead to inflation that is supply is exceeding the demand, in such situation getting a job with high salary will be difficult. And now the other part of the statement ,lead a fulfilling life-the argument just assumes that earning money is what makes a life fulfilled which is not true and completely vague. Earning is just a small part of life but doing what interests the person the most and living with the loved ones is what makes the life well lived. What is the use of the money if the person is living a mundane life with no happiness and satisfaction. So it is upto the person to decide what makes his life fulfilled which the argument just assumes that money is solution to all the happiness. So it is not correct to mandate programming classes for everyone. Still they can continue with the classes but choice should be given to students .While explaining the merits and demerits, what is the scope,what kind of work they are going to do in this particular field.