"The best way to reverse Aura Cosmetic's recent decline in profitability is to require each new employee in Aura's sales division to enroll in the popular SureSale seminar. After all, apparel company DressRite recently incorporated SureSale's week-long seminar into its training program for all new retail sales staff, and DressRite's total retail sales have increased dramatically since then. Besides, the SureSale sales system has been widely adopted among the nation's twenty largest companies."

Identify the argument's stated and/or unstated assumptions, explain how the argument depends on them, and discuss what the implications might be if those assumptions prove unwarranted.

That The BEST WAY to reverse Aura Cosmetic's recent decline in profitability is a generalisation that doesn't put into consideration the various facets of production, marketing, sales and other internal administrative structures that could contribute to the profitability of the organisation. One needs to determine if the administrative and production costs do not outweigh the profits recorded from sales. The conclusion also assumes that there is only one way to increase the profitability and does not explore several other options such as increasing market share and increasing sales price. The author assumes that the utilisation of the suresale system has contributed to the total retail sales of Dressrite without sufficient proof and also that the adoption of the sales system as done by the top twenty largest companies would automatically enhance the profittablity of Aura cosmetics. One also needs to take note of the difference in needs of both companies, Aura cosmetics wantrs to increase profitability while Dressrite inmproved on sales. All these assumptions are rife with loopholes and are flawed if considere from various other angles.

The assumption that the enrollment of the new employees in the sale's division to enrol in the seminar could imply that the organisation's recruitment strategies are weak and that the organisation does not have sufficient expertise in hiring qualified hands. The enrty level of each new staff could be a determining factor in the decision if they should be enrolles in the seminar. Lets assume a consultant was hired as part of the newsales team, would he also be required to partake in the seminar? This assumption o fthe need for all new sales employee to enroll in the organisations seminar also implies that there is sfficient money in the organisation's coffers to pay for the training of the new staff or that the seminar will be free. It does not put into consideration the cost of organising the seminar. If the organisation is looking for ways to increase profitability, spending money on a seminar for new staff is definitely a way to deplete funds and not increase it.

The author also cites the use of the seminar by DressRite an apparael company to improve sales. One needs to cnsider that Dressrite is an apparrel comany while Aura is a cosmetic company. Although both organisations seem to be in the same Fashion industry, their products and services differ distinctly and cater to different age groups. One also needs to dtermine if the increase in sales as a result of the semanar equals a consequent increase in theprofits of the apparel company. The target audience and the types of customers they cater to definitely matters in this regard. If both companies operate in a community where there are more elderly people than young people, The apparel company will definitely make more sales than the cosmetic company because elderly people will buy more clothes than use cosmetics.

The recent decline was assumed to be as a result of the organisation's weakness. Could there be other factors responsuble for this recent decline such factors include a general economic downturn or a natural disaster. In either cases people will first choose to use their available resources for basic necessities- focusing on needs such as food, clothing and shelther. Cosmetics would become a luxury to them and might result to a decreas ein profits of the organisation.

In all, the assumption that utilising the suresale seminar will increase profitability is not cogent enough. Other sales methods such as online marketing, increase in sales prices and expanding market share would definitely be other options to increasing the profitability of the organisation