The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our evening new program has devoted increased time to national news and decreased time to local and weather news. During this period, most of the complaints we got from viewers were concerned with our station's reportage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night evening program have just canceled their advertising contract with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to us and stop losing advertising revenues we should restore time devoted to local and weather news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss the specific evidence needed to evaluate argument and explain how the evidence will weaken or strengthen the argument.

The specific evidence required to evaluate the author's arguement is an decrease in viewership due to recent focus on national news as against weather and local news. The author argues that that the restoration of time devoted to wether and local news to its former level will attract viewers and increase advertising revenues.

Although he cited that viewers have complained about the station's coverage of weather and local news, the author has not mentioned that this has reduced viewership on the station during the evening period. The reportage of wether and local news was not totally eliminated, the post says it was reduced.

The author also did not mention the reason for the focus on the late night news on national events. The reason for the reduction in time for local and wether news could be because of more nationally significant events like an election. In such a significant moment in the nation's history, it will be ideal to focus on national activities as against focusing on local news. An increase in the timing devoted to national news during such a period would generate subsequent complaints about focusing on seemingly 'irrelevant news' in place of a national news. This could generate an adverse effect on viewership and subsequently advertising programes.

Who waits till evening time to get weather reports when it can be gotten at the click of a phine? In recent times, young people rely more on phones social media and mobile technology for news updates, millenials in particular are almost shunning the use of traditional mass media for their information need. This might be the gap identified by the local businesses. In order to determine that advertisement contracts were canceled due to the devotion of more time to national news, one needs to consider the types of adverts that were placed, the age-group of the viewers, The target audience of the local companies and the relevance of the products and services being advertised to the viewers. The adverts probably do not generate sufficient returns to the local companies based on the types of customer they are targeting which might not be watching the evening news. They could also be focusing on expanding their reach through the use of cheaper and more effective information dissemination modes such as social media.

The strength of the arguement is strongly weakened by the above mentioned points, it is obvious that the increase in time devoted to local and weather news might not necesarily increase viewership and advertising contracts.