"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author claims that Happy Pancake House should replace Butter by margarine to the rest of the country as it can save more money for the restaurant. However, the argument does not make a cogent case and is rife with hole and assumptions. Thus, it is not strong enough to lead to the conclusion that restaurants should replace butter my margarine.

First of all, the author cites a result from a survey that only 2% of customer complains about this replacement. However, the author falsely assumes that 2% of customer complain rates is a small number. It is entirely possible that Happy Pancake House is a well-known chain store and 2% of customers may be more than thousands of people. In addition, even if this 2 % complain rates is relatively small, it does not necessarily mean that people who didn’t make an official complain welcome the replacement of butter by margarine. Furthermore, the author argues that severs in Happy Pancake House said few customers complain when they are given margarine other than butter. However, this argument relies on the assumption that servers tell the truth. It may be the case that these servers lie about the number of customers in their restaurants making complains in order to show the quality of the restaurant. Thus, without given the exact number of customers who made complaints and prove the authenticity of these servers’ words, we cannot conclude that replacing butter by margarine is a good idea and can be generalized across the country.

In fact, this is not the only place the author makes such an assumption. In the argument, the author assumes too hastily that customers didn’t make complaints are attributable to either they cannot distinguish butter and margarine, or they use ‘butter’ to refer to both butter and margarine. There is likely a myriad of other reasons that lead customers didn’t make complaints. For instance, it might because customers are just indolence to point out this replacement or even don’t know where to make their complaints. In addition, didn’t make complaints does not necessarily mean that they welcome this replacement. Thus, the author needs to provide more evidence to rule out these possibilities.

Even if the majority of customers accept the idea that replacing the butter by margarine, it would not necessarily be profitable as a result. Profitability is a function of both revenue and expense. It is entirely possible that after they change butter to margarine, fewer customers decide to visit this restaurant, which causes the restaurant to have less revenue. In addition, we are not sure whether margarine will have any potential side effect for customers health compared to butter. If it has some side effects, this replacement behavior will extremely harm restaurant’s reputation and loss a great number of customers. Without weighing revenue against expenses, the argument’s conclusion is premature at best.

In fact, even all assumptions authors made for this restaurant is tenable, the author also too hastily assumes that the success of Happy Pancake House in the southwestern United States can popularize in the whole nation. It is entirely possible that customers in the Northeastern United States are more critics about this issue and won’t visit this chain restaurant anymore. Or perhaps the price of butter in the Southeastern United States is even lower than margarine, which becomes meaningless to replace butter by margarine. Without accounting for such possibilities, the author cannot convince me that replacing butter by margarine is cost-saving and can extend throughout the country.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To strengthen it, the argument’s proponent must provide more data for the survey he mentioned and must convince me that the customers who didn’t make complaints are because they cannot distinguish butter and margarine. Also, to better the argument’s claim that extends this replacement throughout the country, I would need to know more about the customers' preference and provincial conditions in the other part of the country.