The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

“One month ago, all the showerheads in the rest three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this letter, the manager states that modified showerheads, which restrict water flow to one-third of it used to be, need to use in all twelve building in the Sunnyside Towers complex and believes that it will increase profits dramatically. However, before this plan is implemented, the author needs to address a few questions about these possible flaws.

The first question the manager needs to be addressed is the reliability of his survey towards customers attitude and savings. As the manager mentioned in his letter, these showerheads were only installed in a month. Thus, it is entirely possible that some potential side effects of these modified showerheads have not appeared or residents who want to make complaints do not start their acts. It is also probable that last month was a special case and residents do not use the same amount of water as usual. In this case, the manager needs to address whether the water flow of these modified shower heads can suffer stress from a high-level water usage season. Without answering these potential problems, the author cannot justifiably conclude that the success of last month can apply in the future.

In addition, the manager needs to answer what he means for

considerable savings” in his letter. In order to convince his residents and readers of his letter, he needs to give the exact amount and percentage of the cost-saving made by modified showerheads. Also, it is better for him to show whether these savings are statistically significant or not. Despite this problem, in the letter, the manager mentioned that he received “a few complaints.” What is the accurate number of cases and percentages of complaints happen in the last month? What’s the severity of these complaints? If the manager cannot answer these questions, he cannot convince me that his modified shower head plan is cost-saving and can be effective to all buildings.

Other than the questions I mentioned above, another important question that needs to be answered is the profitability of this plan. Even if it’s true that modifying showerheads is cost-saving, it would not necessarily mean that this plan is profitable as a result. In fact, profitability is a function of both revenue and expense. For instance, changing shower heads is also a cost for residents. The manager needs to answer whether saving from water usage will balance the cost of showerheads. In addition, the manager needs to answer whether this plan will cause certain potential residents to give up moving to these buildings and some old residents decide to move out due to the water pressure of these showerheads. Without weighing revenue against expenses, the argument’s conclusion is premature at best.

Even if this plan is cost-saving in general and is effective in three buildings, the manager also needs to address whether this plan can apply to all twelve buildings. In our common sense, more residents mean more potential problems as each individual has different water usage habits. Also, different residents may have different attitudes toward their water usage rights. The manager needs to answer whether he and his colleague have been prepared for extending his plan to a larger population and the way they may use to face critics from those residents.

In conclusion, the argument the manager presented in his letter is unpersuasive. To strengthen it, the manager must answer the following questions: what’s the reliability of his survey? What’s the exact number of complaints and savings made by this plan? What're the overall profits of this plan? How can they apply it to all twelve buildings?