Chemists have determined that spring water from Augusta, Maine contains minerals necessary for a healthy body. Residents of Augusta, Maine, have a longer life span than the average U.S. citizen. Even though spring water from Augusta, Maine may be expensive, it is a superior choice over drinking general tap water.

How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

The statement attempts to bridge a positive relationship between the spring water from Augusta and longer life span to the residents living there. This is based on the premises that the residents of Augusta have a longer life span than the average U.S. citizen. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw in the statement is that, chemists claimed that the spring water quality in Augusta is healthy for body, though there are no report presented regarding the experiment and specifically what compound is in much extant in the spring water than the natural tap water have not been specified. So, the author's claim regarding the positive impact of that spring water can be substantiated by providing specific water properties of that spring water relative to the normal tap water.

Moreover, the writer's statement claims that the Augusta's residents have a longer life span than the average U.S. citizen, whereas he/she did not present any comparison regarding life expectancy of the people living there, which seriously cast doubt to his claim. So, by providing specific life expectancy of Augusta people and other parts of U.S., he/she can strengthen his claim.

Additionally, we can infer from the statement that the author believes that the longer life span of Augusta people is caused by the superior water quality of that area's spring. But to claim with certainty, the statement must have presented the geographic and demographic information of that area. For instance, the Augusta can be a city by the sea shore and the fresh air of the sea is very healthy, which is an already an established fact. Again, Augusta can be a city with very low density population, which ensures that the state government can take better care of it's people regarding medical, recreational facility, sports, which can eventually increase the life span of the people living there. So, not specifying those possible facts seriously undermine the whole argument and render it somewhat pointless.

So, to conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to present incipient assumption. The solution proposed by the author seems tenuous due to lack of supporting evidences. The author must have given more concrete evidence to substantiate his viewpoints and to make the argument more cogent.