The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city's electric expenses by switching all the lights in public building from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council's proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council's prediction.

Despite the proposal of the council seems reasonable, some questions have to be adressed to assure that the financial viability of the project is correct and the long term worth of the investment is positive. There are two main clauses which supports the argument of the council, but none of them are based in an analysis of costs or, even statistical data to bolster the argument.

The first clause that is used to conclude the convenience of the switching of the bulls relies in the fact the cost of purchase is the same for both products. However, this argument is not considering that the costs of maintenance can largely increase if the failure rate of the new bulbs is greater. So whether the frequency of changing the bulbs increases, it might not compensate the investment of purchase.

While the argument presents an interest hypothesis linking the brightness of the bulb with its energetic efficiency, there is no data that support this conclusion. Instead, some may argue that if the consumption of energy is higher per lumio, these bulbs would thrive in an increase of variable costs. To strong this argument, the council had better present data that confirms the consumption of energy of the new bulbs is less than the incandescent bulbs.

In sum, some additional information has to be presented to reinforce the financial viability of the proposal made by the council. First, some statistical data may be delivered to confirm the failure rate of LED bulbs wont increase maintenance costs. On the other hand, some information regarding the energetic efficiency of the bulbs would strong the hypothesis that these bulbs would save electrical expense in the future.