Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Most parents do significant efforts to enroll their children into the most prestigious schools in their town, adressing the conception that a good academic preparation will thrive to a successful development in their adulthood. However, the measure to determine if an school is good or not is just done from an academic perspective, dismissing the education in other areas equally important as academics, as ethics, financial management and politics.

Corruption has always been one of the most relevant problems in political management of any country, specially in third-world. In Latin America, the corruption has caused that trust in goverment decreased to levels never seen before. Most of the cases, corrupt politicians are people with strong academic background but poor ethical values. If schools include ethics as part of their core programs, in the long-term, children who have received this education will be citizens with (at least) a notion of what is required to be a social leader.

Another element that schools should include in their core program is financial management. There is no doubt that most of the financial problems of people is due to lack of knowledge of how manage their money and awareness of their own debt capacity based on their income. Schools can have a huge impact if children since their early ages start to understand how money has to be manage and the responsability that it carries in the future.

Receive the benefits of a non-academic preparation at schools, implies that families have to be responsible with the selection of the school because, this complimentary education can oppose to their religious, economic or political beliefs. Few people can argue that this non-academic education has to be delivered at home, but in the current context of society, most of the parent do not have the time to teach their children these topics with the rigurosity that it requires.

In conclusion, non-academic education should be part of the core preparation of children at schools, not only for the benefits in their own development, also for the impact of future generations in social, political and economic context.