The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above prompt is about the two large fashion design stores that is Namen, the high end designer, and Roscoe, the affordable fashion designer. The crux of the issue here is which one of these stores if opened in the suburb of Salem will be more profitable. According to the above mentioned argument, Namen's executives claim that their business will be more profitable as there is an increase in population and with it their incomes. Rocoe's executives claim that since the increase in population in that area are mostly family oriented they might be stingy and won't spend much money in clothes, and will choose the more affordable option of the two, which is Rocoe store. The above mentioned arguments and claims are filled with logical fallcies upon which I will shedding light.

Firstly, it is claimed that there is a fifty percent increase in the total population in the last three years. Now, here we do not know if this fifty percent growth in population are rich people who prefer high end designer or of they are a middle class family who prefer to be thrifty. So, even if the poulation rise includes people who sartorical and like spending profliantly, it would mean a loss for Roscoe's store, and their claim wouldn't hold up here. Now, considering the opposite scenario, if the growth in population includes people who have families and they do not want to be spend magnanimously on clothes, that would mean a loss for Namen's store, in which case their claim would be mendacious.

Secondly, the prompt says the median income is $75,000. The median doesn't give us a fair idea about the income of the people in Salem, but the mean income would, and the data for which is not provided for here. The median just tells us about what the one person would earn, but mean will give us what each person earns on an average. Using mean the relative incomes can be determined but it cannot be done with median. In addition, it cannot be said that with increase in population, the median will also increase.

Thirdly, Roscoe's executive claims that people in suburbs are more family oriented, which is why they will be more profitable. Even if that is true, what if the families are loaded or what if they have their family money? What if they were part of a big business dynasty? Then they would obviously like to spend more money on the clothes they wear as they would like to seem extravagent. Hence, this claim is very circumstantial, and cannot ratify the claim made by Roscoe's executive.

In conclusion, its a rickety argument, and falls apart when questioned about the various assumptions which are unwarrented and circumstantial. Therefore, there needs to more proper surveys and data collected for any of the claims to be true and for the predicted result to be true, a lot more research needs to be done.