The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above mentioned arguments from both stores consists of flaws. Both fail to address several key factors that could affect the profits of both stores. It also distorts the view of the situation by stating ill supported facts. Namen's executives claim that as median income increases, people would be willing to spend more on fashion. On the other hand, Roscoe's executives believe that suburbs are more family oriented and so they would prefer affordable options.

These assumptions dont have a solid ground. In the case of Namen, there is no evidence supporting the claim that people would spend more on fashion as their income increases. If we were aware of the trends associating income and purchasing habits, this claim would be more convincing.

Even if the people did spend more on clothing, it needn't necessarily imply that they would purchase clothing from Namen. Hence, we would not only need to know if people would spend more on clothing, we also need to know if they would purchase from Namen. They have also made statistical claims on the population growth and median income without any evidence to prove the same.

Coming to the case of Roscoe, their executives say that suburbs are more family oriented which would imply that they prefer affordable options. This may not be the case, as there could be families wanted high-end designer fashion as well. A survey on whether the families prefer high-end or affordable fashion would help support this claim.

Both stores also base their success in Salem based on their success in Winston. This assumption is wrong as the demographic of people in both these places could be completely different. We would need to know the similarities in income and clothing preferences of the people in both these places to strengthen this claim. Thus both stores fail to make a convincing claim that they will be profitable in their new stores in Salem.