Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But l

The argument points out that the construction of an additional lane on the Blue Highway will reduce the commuting time between suburbs and city center. This argument is does not account for the over all effects the new lane will bring and does not take into consideration the counter effects of this action.

The major factor this argument does not take into account is that this Blue Highway connects the suburbs to the city center, which would be a popular travel route. There would be many people who would be travelling on this route for various activities and an additional lane cannot limit the increasing number of people travelling on this route. For example a shopkeeper would have to take this highway everyday to commute to his workplace, so would so many other shopkeepers and customers. The argument doesn't take into consideration that when another lane is added, many more establishments would come in the city center, attracting an even higher number of commuters.

Adding another lane might actually end up attracting a larger traffic volume. A lot many people who would otherwise take another route might start taking this highway under the perception that a new lane has been added, which would now reduce the commute time on this highway. At a point when everyone starts with the same assumption, the ultimate result is that the highway produces the same travel time as it did before even after adding another lane.

A large number of people saying a particular action might help, need not necessarily be correct. It is very possible that the suggestion provided by the motorists might not really be effective in real time scenario.

Thus the argument should take into consideration of all the effects of the proposed action and account for all possible scenarios.